Thursday, November 5, 2009

Superintendent Cox Names Student Advisory Council‏

State Superintendent of Schools Kathy Cox named 53 students from around Georgia to her 2009-2010 Student Advisory Council.

As members of the council, these students will meet three times throughout the school year to advise Superintendent Cox on how state policies are having an impact in the classroom. The Student Advisory Council will also discuss other education-related issues and will serve as the Superintendent's ambassadors in their respective schools.

"The Student Advisory Council is an invaluable resource to me and the leadership of the Georgia Department of Education," Superintendent Cox said. "It gives me a tremendous insight into how state policies and procedures are working in the classroom and it allows me to communicate directly with students in schools throughout Georgia."

More than 550 students from 108 districts applied to be a member of the Student Advisory Council by filling out an application and answering essay questions. Students were chosen based on the strength of their essay answers.

"It was a difficult task to choose the members of the Student Advisory Council this year and I'm grateful to every student who applied," Superintendent Cox said. "I think we have a great group of students this year and I'm looking forward to our first meeting." The first meeting of the Student Advisory Council will be held November 9 at the Georgia Institute of Technology in Atlanta.

Savannah Andersen Cartersville High School
Maggie Bailey Academy of Richmond County
Jerrel Baker Lovejoy High School
Chasity Barlow Jackson High School
MacTavius Basley Twiggs County High School
Manasa Bhatta Chattahoochee High School
Taylor Bishop North Hall High School
Emma Brown Central High School
Miranda Burke Dooly County High School
McCall Butler Troup High School
Kyle Champion Americus‐Sumter High School South
Drake Corbin Jackson County Comprehensive High School
Brittney Curry Baldwin High School
Callie Dailey Jenkins County High School
Brittney Daughtry Georgia School for the Deaf
Jordie Davies Dodge County High School
Bob Deans Douglas County HS
LaToria Dixon Frederick Douglass High School
Will Dover Rockmart High School
Corey Fischer Woody Gap School
Vanessa Gallegos Central Gwinnett High School
Amanda Grobe Colquitt County High School
Andrew Henderson Georgia School for the Deaf
David Henry Lamar County Comprehensive High School
Matthew Holt Cook County High School
Elizabeth Jordan McNair High School
Helena Joseph Luella High School
Mary Keilhauer Pope High School
Elizabeth Kornegay Thomasville High School Scholars Academy
Veronica Leon Gainesville High School
Sarah Lindsey Washington County High School
Kayla Marks Monroe Comprehensive High School
Ryan McCormack Ridgeland High School
Lindsey McDonald Alcovy High School
Grace McLaine Clinch County High School
Katherine Olson Savannah Arts Academy
Ben O'Steen Appling County High School
Ansley Parker Pierce County High School
Travis Perry Willam Henry Spencer High School
Shaniqua Pierce West Laurens High School
Anthony Reed Oconee County High School
Hannah Robbins Woodstock High School
Sara Beth Roberts White County High School
Leekira Smith Statesboro High School
Sarah Snipes Coffee County High School
Quannaires Streeter Sandy Creek High School
Charles Trader Camden County High School
Sofia Tuttle Rockdale Magnet School for Science & Technology
Will Walker Turner County High School
Christopher Warren Vidalia Comprehensive High School
Ellie Weeks Tift County High School
Laura Whyte Peach County High School
Jaimee Yearwood Greene County High School

Fayette Front Page
Georgia Front Page
Arts Across Georgia

No comments: