Monday, March 15, 2010

The National Science Teachers Association Announces 2010 Teachers Awards Program Recipients

/PRNewswire/ -- The National Science Teachers Association (NSTA), the largest professional organization in the world promoting excellence and innovation in science teaching and learning, has announced the recipients of its 2010 Teacher Awards Program, which honors K-12 teachers, professors, principals, and others for their outstanding achievement and innovative programs in science education. The awardees will be honored at a special banquet and ceremony on Friday, March 19, at NSTA's 58th National Conference on Science Education in Philadelphia.

NSTA will present its most prestigious award, the Robert H. Carleton Award, to former NSTA President Dr. Arthur Eisenkraft, distinguished professor of science education at the University of Massachusetts in Boston, Mass. and past recipient of NSTA's Distinguished Service to Science Education Award. The Robert H. Carleton Award recognizes one individual who has made outstanding contributions to, and provided leadership in, science education at the national level and to NSTA in particular.

A dedicated and passionate member of the science education community, Eisenkraft has contributed extensively to the association. He has been intimately involved in the development of several key corporate partnerships for NSTA. Eisenkraft also co-created the Toshiba/NSTA ExploraVision Awards competition, one of the most recognized science competitions in the country. In addition to his tenure as president, Eisenkraft, an NSTA member since 1980, has served on a number of important education committees, including The College Board's Science Academic Advisory Committee and the Committee on the Future of High School Science Laboratories for the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) and the National Research Council (NRC).

NSTA is also honoring the following recipients:

NSTA Presidential Citation
-- Emma Walton, science education consultant, Anchorage, AL

NSTA Distinguished Informal Science Education Award, partially sponsored by ServiceMaster

-- Kim Sneden, curator of education, Detroit Zoological Society, Royal
Oak, MI

NSTA Distinguished Service to Science Education Award, partially sponsored by ServiceMaster

-- Herb Brunkhorst, professor of science education and Biology,
California State University, San Bernardino, CA
-- Dwight Sieggreen, science teacher, Northville Public Schools,
Northville, MI

NSTA Distinguished Teaching Award, partially sponsored by ServiceMaster
-- Donna Rini, science teacher, Brookside High School, Sheffield, OH

Faraday Science Communicator Award
-- Joseph Hwang, Anaheim Ducks, Rosemead, CA

NSTA Fellow Award
-- Sandra Abell, curators' professor, University of Missouri, Columbia,

NSTA Legacy Award
-- Alice Moses, former NSF Director of Instructional Materials
Development Program, Washington, D.C.

Maitland P. Simmons Memorial Award for New Teachers
-- Robert Chase, Twin Rivers Middle School, Buford, GA
-- Natalie Dagley, Wyatt Elementary, Plano, TX
-- Isabelle Debarros, E.F. Leddy Elementary School, Taunton, MA
-- Briana Faxon, Bremerton High School, Bremerton, WA
-- Caysie Heil, Malden High School, Malden, MO
-- Kathey Hoover, Wylie High School, Wylie, TX
-- Kathryn Humora, Notre Dame School, New York, NY
-- Karen Kraus, Delta Woods Middle School, Lees Summit, MO
-- Kimberly Kult, North Polk Jr-Sr High School, Alleman, IA
-- Lindsay Lowther, Arlington High School-Biosmart, St. Paul, MN
-- Theresa Madrid, Socorro High School, El Paso, TX
-- Laura Marks, Upper St. Claire, Upper St. Clair High School, PA
-- Abbie Martin, Jamestown High School, Williamsburg, VA
-- David Martinez, McRoberts Elementary, Katy, TX
-- Emily Mathews, Joseph Stockton Elementary, Chicago, IL
-- Megan McCulloch, South Vienna Middle School, South Vienna, OH
-- Elizabeth McMillan, Flandreau Middle School, Flandreau, SD
-- Scott Moore, Ankeny Sr. High School, Ankeny, IA
-- Julie Parker, Voy Spears Jr. Elementary, Lees Summit, MO
-- Torri Rinker, Passaic High School, Passaic, NJ
-- Jennifer Russell, Hope Community Charter School, Washington, D.C.
-- Joleen Teates, Newport High School, Newport, PA
-- Kyle Thompson, Lincoln East High School, Lincoln, NE
-- Shannon Thompson, Lanier Senior High School, Montgomery, AL
-- Andrea Van Waardhuizen, South Anchorage High School, Anchorage, AL

BioRad Biotechnology Explorer Award
-- Jennifer Hand, science teacher, Cairo High School, Cairo, GA

DCAT "Making a Difference" Award
-- Susan Hrenko, intervention specialist, WKHS Greenhouse, Worthington
Kilbourne High School, Columbus, OH
-- Dennis Foreman, science teacher, Zane Trace Middle School,
Chillicothe, OH

Delta Education/ FREY-NEO/ CPO Science Education Award for Excellence in Inquiry-Based Science Teaching

-- Elementary Level: Deborah Wickerham, science teacher, Chamberlin Hill
Intermediate School, Findlay, OH
-- Middle Level: Allison Bogart, science teacher, Woodrow Wallace Middle
School, Lake Isabella, CA
-- High School Level: Heather McArdle, science teacher, Mahopac High
School, Mahopac, NY

The DuPont Challenge© Science Essay Competition (Sponsoring Teacher - Award)

-- Dr. Omar Acio, chemistry teacher, Thomas Jefferson High School,
Alexandria, VA
-- Joan Roberts, science teacher, Rice Middle School, Plano, TX

SeaWorld/Busch Gardens Outstanding Environmental Educator Award
-- Cindy Suchanek, Mira Loma High School, Sacramento, CA

Shell Science Teaching Award
-- Awardee: Tamica Stubbs, biology and research teacher, EE Waddell High
School, Charlotte, NC
-- Finalist: Chanda Davis, science teacher, Hampton Cove Middle School,
Hampton Cove, AL
-- Finalist: Wendy DeMers, science teacher, Hynes Charter School, New
Orleans, LA

Sylvia Shugrue Award for Elementary School Teachers
-- Cathy Kindem, science specialist, Cedar Park STEM Elementary, Apple
Valley, MN

Vernier Software & Technology Awards
-- Elementary Level: Judy Heitkamp, science teacher, Prairie Elementary
School, Worthington, MN
-- Middle Level: Nicole Ackerson, science instructor, Berkeley
Preparatory School, Tampa, FL
-- Middle Level: Cynthia Ollendyke, science teacher, Peters Township
Middle School, McMurray, PA
-- High School Level: Steve Ahn, science teacher, Abingdon High School,
Abingdon, VA
-- High School Level: Stephen Biscotte, science teacher, Cave Spring High
School, Roanoke, VA
-- High School Level: Deborah Carder, science teacher, Fruitvale High
School, Fruitvale, TX
-- College Level: Brian Geislinger, physics professor, Gadsden State
Community College, Gadsden, AL

Wendell G. Mohling Outstanding Aerospace Educator Award, sponsored by Sally Ride Science and the Challenger Center for Space Science Education

-- William Richards, executive director, Community Resource Volunteers,
St. Johns, MI

Zula International-NSTA Early Science Educator Award
-- NSTA/CESI: Christina Ryan, kindergarten teacher, Cambridgeport School,
Cambridge, MA
-- NAEYC/NHSA: Jonathan Gillentine, pre-kindergarten teacher, Reverend
Benjamin Parker School, Kaneohe, HI

"Through their hard work and dedication, these outstanding educators are making a difference," said Pat Shane, president, NSTA. "They make science come alive for their students and help them realize the importance of science in their daily lives."

NSTA encourages science educators to apply for its 2011 teacher awards. Applications and information can be found online at

Fayette Front Page
Georgia Front Page
Follow us on Twitter:  @GAFrontPage

No comments: