Tuesday, January 25, 2011

Scholarship to Support School Security Professionals Opens Nominations Process for 2011

/PRNewswire/ -- The National Association of School Resource Officers (NASRO) today announced that nominations are being accepted for the 2011 Wren Solutions School Resource Officer (SRO) Scholarship Award. The award is part of a $10,000 donation that Wren, providers of physical security solutions that create safe learning environments, pledged over a four year time period.

The annual scholarship, now in its third year, was created to help SROs further their education, thereby bringing even more expertise and security strategies to protect the schools they serve. Last year's winner, School Resource Officer (SRO) Cody Myers of the Riverton, Wyoming Police Department shares his background story, and how the scholarship will help him to create a safer school environment in a guest blog posting on the Wren School Security Blog.

The deadline for all nominations is April 8, 2011. This new winner will be announced at NASRO's 21st Annual National Conference to be held June 27 through July 1, 2011 in Orlando, Florida. The award will be offered and administered through NASRO.

In order to be considered for the scholarship, applicants must be a current member of NASRO (or they can join at the time they apply for the scholarship) and enrolled in an associate's or bachelor's degree program in law enforcement, criminal justice or a related field deemed appropriate by the NASRO Scholarship Committee such as business, public administration or psychology. At the time of applying, candidates must be a sworn law enforcement officer.

"Since the scholarship program was established, it has helped two outstanding SROs further their education and bring even more expertise and security strategies to protect the schools they serve," said Mo Canady, Executive Director of NASRO. "With this scholarship, Wren and NASRO look forward to continuing to offer the most committed SROs with the same opportunity: to advance their education and career, in turn bringing new ideas and expertise to school security and protection."

In selecting the award winner, the nomination committee will consider each applicant's contributions to their SRO program, agency, NASRO or the community. Applicants are also asked to address how they utilized technology to enhance the safety and security of people, property and information.

"Our 2010 winner, Cody Meyers, was an outstanding candidate and continues to serve his community as an officer while also balancing a challenging study schedule," said Andrew Wren, president, Wren. "We look forward to our next round of applicants and eagerly anticipate recognizing and awarding another highly-qualified professional with a well-deserved scholarship award."

Community News You Can Use
Click to read MORE news:
Twitter: @gafrontpage & @TheGATable @HookedonHistory
Twitter: @artsacrossga, @softnblue, @RimbomboAAG @FayetteFP

No comments: