Tuesday, April 22, 2008

ADEA/GlaxoSmithKline/National Dental Association and ADEA/GlaxoSmithKline Awards Presented at 2008 ADEA Annual Session

The American Dental Education Association (ADEA), GlaxoSmithKline (GSK) Consumer Healthcare, and the National Dental Association (NDA) recently presented three awards to dental educators to enhance their teaching efforts. The recipients were recognized at the inaugural Gies Awards for Vision, Innovation, and Achievement, held in conjunction with the 85th ADEA Annual Session and Exhibition in Dallas. The awards include the 2008 ADEA/GSK/NDA Dr. Jeanne C. Sinkford Scholarship, the 2008 ADEA/GSK Excellence in Teaching Award, and the 2008 ADEA/GSK Dental Hygiene Teaching Fellowship Program.

Three dental hygiene educators were chosen for the ADEA/GSK Dental Hygiene Fellowship Program, which provides opportunities for dental hygiene educators to enhance their teaching skills, develop or refine their presentation methods, and provide support to attend the ADEA Allied Dental Faculty Leadership Program. This year’s recipients are Ann O’Kelley Wetmore, R.D.H., Idaho State University; Colleen M. Brickle, R.D.H., R.F., Ed.D., Normandale Community College; and Susan I. Duley, Ed.D., R.D.H., L.P.C., Clayton State University.

“GlaxoSmithKline Consumer Heathcare understands that creating innovative ways to support good educational opportunities can lead to improving the overall health of the public. These awards have been designed to foster excellence in teaching through recognition and programs that will help educators improve and refine their interpersonal, presentation, and teaching skills,” said Ronald L. Rupp, D.M.D., U.S. Professional Relations, GlaxoSmithKline Consumer Healthcare.

“ADEA is thankful for GlaxoSmithKline and the National Dental Association’s investment in the dental education community and looks forward to working with the recipients as they refine and strengthen their teaching skills,” said ADEA President James Q. Swift, D.D.S.
Fayette Front Page
Community News You Can Use
Fayetteville, Peachtree City, Tyrone

No comments: